Virginia Association of Trade and Industrial Educators

Executive Board & Contact Information


President – Curtis Taylor

Badger Tech Center

26350 Lankford Highway

Onley, VA 23418

Phone: (757)-787-4522

Email: curtis.taylor@accomack.k12.va.us


Past President – Laura Smith, CD

Washington County Career & Technical Education Center

255 Stanley Street

Abingdon, VA 24210

Phone: (276)-739-3124

Email: lsmith@wcs.k12.va.us


President Elect – Matt Ingram

Northern Neck Regional Technical Center

13946 Historyland Highway

Warsaw, VA 22572

Phone: (804) 333-4940

Email: mingram@northernnecktech.org


Secretary – Joyce Price

Blacksburg High School

3401 Bruin Lane

Blacksburg, VA 24060

Work Phone: (540)-951-5706 Ext 3

Cell Phone: (540)-641-0792

Email: jprice2@mcps.org


Treasurer – Sidney Delepine

Virginia Beach Technical & Career Education Center

2925 North Landing Road

Virginia Beach, VA 23456

Work Phone:  (757)-648-5850

Cell Phone: (757)-536-7010

Email: sidney.delepine@vbschools.com


Treasurer Elect – James Harper

1066 Scotts Store Road

Bedford, VA 24523

Phone: (540) 425-1980

Email: jharper@skillsusava.org


Financial Officer – Kenneth Anderson

Virginia Beach Technical & Career Education Center

2925 North Landing Road

Virginia Beach, VA 23456

Work Phone:  (757)-648-5850

Email: kenneth.anderson@vbschools.com


Conference Manager – James (Jim) R. Bushong

448 Catawba Road

Daleville, VA 24083-2698

Home Phone: (540)-992-2460

Email: jbushong@bcps.k12.va.us


SkillsUSA Virginia Representative – Deborah Tripp

State Student Specialist

121 Maryanne Ave SW

Leesburg, VA 20175

Email: dtripp@skillsusava.org

website: www.skillsusava.org


Administrative Advisor – Jason Suhr

Principal Burton Center for Arts and Technology

Director of RCPS Governor’s STEM Academy at BCAT

Director of Career & Technical Education, Adult Eduation

Roanoke County Public Schools

1760 Roanoke Boulevard

Salem, VA 24153

Phone: (540)-857-5000

Email: jsuhr@rcs.k12.va.us


DOE Representative – Mr. Anthony Williams

Program Specialist

Trade and Industrial Education and Related Clusters

Virginia Department of Education

PO Box 2120

Richmond, Virginia. 23218-2120

Phone: 804-225-2828

Fax: 804-530-4560

Email: anthony.williams@doe.virginia.gov



Past VATIE Presidents

Officer Nominations

Officer elections shall be conducted at the annual meeting. The terms shall be staggered in that the President-Elect and the Secretary will be elected in even number years and the Treasurer will be elected in odd number of years.


2018 President Elect

2018 Secretary

-- Deadline June 1, 2018 --

2014-2016Laura SmithWashington County Career and Technical Education Center
2012-2014James JonesVirginia Beach Technical and Career Education Center
2010-2012Rose BlevinsKecoughtan High School
2008-2010Sidney DelepineVirginia Beach Vocational Technical Center
2006-2008Sondra MassieSouthside Virginia Community College
2004-2006Lonnie QuesenberryTazewell County Career and Technical Center
2002-2004Larry BentleyPage County Technical Center
2000-2002Pat RichardTriplett Business and Technical Institute
1998-2000Don HoffmanC. S. Monroe Technology Center
1996-1998Jim BushongBotetourt Technical Education Center
1994-1996Bill AndersonHermitage Technical Center
1992-1994Ken AndersonVirginia Beach Vocational Technical Center
1990-1992Richard StonerAmelia-Nottoway Career and Technical Education Center